​Best Practices Resource Page

Looking for example programs, model websites, information links and "how-to" guides for your state DOT? Check out the following links and contacts for best practice examples that may be useful to your state DOT!
Have an idea you'd like to share? Contact Richard Price at rprice@aashto.org​.

BUS TRANSIT INFORMATION

EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT

Emergency Management Planning for Texas Transit Agencies: A Guidebook (1999)
Karen Dunlap, Texas Department of Transportation
Telephone: (512) 416-2817
Email: KDUNLAP@dot.state.tx.us
http://www.dot.state.tx.us/PTN/documents/researchrpt1834-4.pdf

GRANTEE REVIEWS

Compliance and Good Practices Review Workbooks
Montana Department of Transportation
David Jacobs, Transit Planner
Telephone: (406) 444-6120
Email: dajacobs@state.mt.us
For MT workbook and review checklist samples, email balberts@aashto.org

Maryland Section 5311 Compliance Review Checklist
(For a copy of MD's checklist for Locally Operated Transit Systems, please email balberts@aashto.org. This review is based on Maryland's system and may not match the criteria used by other states.)
Nancy Noonan
Maryland Transit Administration
Telephone: (410) 454-7941
Email: nnoonan@mtamaryland.com

JOB ACCESS & REVERSE COMMUTE

New Mexico State Highway & Transportation Department
ATR Institute University of New Mexico
Client Referral, Ridership, and Financial Tracking (CRRAFT)
(Passenger and Financial Tracking for JARC)
Amy Estelle, University of New Mexico
Telephone: (505) 246-6410
Email: estelle@unm.edu
http://www.unm.edu/~atr

Kings County Area Public Transit Agency
Agricultural Industries Transportation Services (AITS)
(Transportation services for seasonal, residential farmworkers designed to mitigate injuries and fatalities while commuting to/from agricultural worksites)
Ron Hughes, Executive Director
Telephone: (559) 582-3211, extension 2696
Email: rhughes@co.kings.ca.us
http://www.kartaits.com/



MAINTENANCE

Florida Maintenance Training Program
State Bus Fleet Leasing Program
Robert Westbrook, Program Manager
Transit Operations
Telephone: (850) 414-4500
Email: robert.westbrook@dot.state.fl.us
http://www11.myflorida.com/transit/default.htm
http://www.cutr.eng.usf.edu/index2.htm

Regional Maintenance Centers
Illinois DOT Division of Public Transportation
David Spacek, Bureau Chief for Downstate Area Programs
Telephone: (312) 793-2154
Email: SpacekDT@nt.dot.state.il.us

Texas Maintenance Manual
Karen Dunlap, Texas Department of Transportation
Telephone: (512) 416-2817
Email: KDUNLAP@dot.state.tx.us
http://www.dot.state.tx.us/PTN/documents/mgmtguide.pdf


TRANSIT ASSET MANAGEMENT

Arizona DOT Transit Asset Management System Database
TAPS – Transit Automated Programs System
Bill Sapper, Arizona DOT
Montse Anderson, TAPS Program Manager
Telephone: (602) 712-7333
Email: Manderson@dot.state.az.us

SAFETY

Bus & Rail Fixed Guideway Safety Programs
Substance Abuse Program
Mike Johnson, Administrator
Transit Operations
Telephone: (850) 414-4500
Email: jamesmike.johnson@dot.state.fl.us
http://www11.myflorida.com/transit/default.htm
http://www.cutr.usf.edu/bussafety2/bussafety2.htm


VEHICLES


Illinois
Section 5311 Bus Charter Service Flow Chart

Florida Vehicle Procurement Program

Paul Johnson, Program Manager
Transit Operations
Telephone: (850) 414-4500
Email: paul.johnson@dot.state.fl.us
http://www.cutr.eng.usf.edu/index2.htm


Pennsylvania Standard Vehicle Specification
Package to help avoid Corrosion on Small Vehicle Procurements
John Dockendorf, Chief Urban Transit Division or
Robert Zolyak, Vehicle Procurement Coordinator
Pennsylvania DOT
Telephone: (717) 787-7540
Email: jdockendor@state.pa.us

Minnesota Cooperative Vehicle Procurement Program – Multiple Award Process
Kathy Fuller, Program Administrator
Minnesota DOT
Telephone: (651) 366-4190
Email: kathy.fuller@state.mn.us


MULTI-MODAL INFORMATION

BICYCLE & PEDESTRIAN National Links
Pedestrian and Bicycle Information Center
http://www.bicyclinginfo.org
http://www.walkinginfo.org

State Links
Alabama
Mary Lou Crenshaw
Telephone: (334) 353-6439
Email: crenshaw@dot.state.al.us

Colorado
Gay Page
Telephone: (303) 757-9982
Email: gay.page@dot.state.co.us
Web Links: http://www.dot.state.co.us/bikeped/

Connecticut
David Balzer
Telephone: (860) 594-2141
Email: david.balzer@po.state.ct.us

Florida
Dwight Kingsbury
Telephone: (850) 410-4920
Email: Dwight.kingsbury@dot.state.fl.us
Web Links: http://www.dot.state.fl.us/safety/

Minnesota
Tim Mitchell, Planning Director
Telephone: (651) 366-4162
Email: tim.mitchell@state.mn.us
Web Links: http://www.dot.state.mn.us/bike/ and http://www.dot.state.mn.us/peds/

Missouri
Caryn Giarratano
Telephone: (573) 522-9297
Email: giarrc1@mail.modot.state.mo.us
Web Links: http://www.modot.state.mo.us/info/bikeped/default.htm
http://www.modot.state.mo.us/info/bikeped/manual.pdf

New Hampshire
Kit Morgan
Telephone: (603) 271-2468
Email: cmorgan@dot.state.nh.us
http://webster.state.nh.us/dot/nhbikeped

New York State
Eric Ophardt
Telephone: (518) 457-2100
Email: eophardt@gw.dot.state.ny.us
Publications or Web Links: "Transportation Choices for the 21st Century" (1997)

Washington State
Paula Reeves
Telephone: (360) 705-7258
Email: ReevesP@wsdot.wa.gov
Web Links:
Plan – http://www.wsdot.wa.gov/PPSC/WTP/Plan/Full-WTP.pdf
Documents – http://www.wsdot.wa.gov/TA/PAandI/Bike-Ped/PedFacilityGB.pdf
Additional information – http://www.wsdot.wa.gov/TA/PAandI/PAIHP.html